What Are the Aspects of a Great Legal Marketing Agency?

For any law firm or lawyer, digital marketing is the key to fostering engagement with existing clientele and securing new leads. But building a successful marketing campaign and properly allocating your budget is no small task. 

With so much competition in the digital marketplace, it requires a herculean feat to stand out—at least, on your own. But with the help of the right digital marketing team, achieving that goal becomes much more realistic.  

So, what are the qualities that a great legal marketing firm should have? Are there specific questions you should ask? 

Here’s what you need to know. 

Do They Have Deep Industry Experience and Roots?  

There are no universal strategies when it comes to digital marketing for different industries. While some general practices are applicable wherever you go, what works for an accounting firm may completely flop for a legal firm. As Business2Community notes:1 

“Differences across industries mean you need a deep understanding of the types of consumers, their motivations, the problems they need to be solved, which factors are most impactful in decision making, and even how consumers approach decisions in a particular marketplace. You need to understand how to talk to the market if you want successful outcomes.”

The most thought-out marketing campaign won’t work if it’s targeting the wrong audience via incorrect channels or using improper messaging. 

Put simply, specialization is the name of the game. 

For example, if you practice bankruptcy law and a prospective client comes to your website seeking immigration law assistance, would you work to win them over as a client? Seeing as it’s not your legal expertise, it would make more sense for them to work with someone that focuses on citizenship laws and asylum protection.  

The same applies to choosing the right legal marketing firm. Legal firms will receive far more ROI from a marketing firm that already has deep industry roots, understands the market and target clientele, and only employs strategies that are known to convert. 

A generalized marketing firm simply can’t compare to one that specializes in serving smart lawyers, and smart lawyers only. 

Why Convert It? 

We have more than a decade of experience in building customized marketing strategies that are tailored to a specific consumer law practice area. Our team specializes in a wide range of legal practice areas, including: 

  • Bankruptcy law
  • Business law
  • Criminal law
  • DUI/DWI law
  • Employment law
  • Estate planning law
  • Family law
  • Foreclosure defense
  • Immigration law
  • Personal injury law
  • Real estate law
  • SSDI claims
  • Tax law
  • Workers compensation

Do They Have a Track Record of Success? 

It’s not enough for a legal marketing agency to exist within your sphere as specialists. They also need to have a proven history of delivering marketing results for law firms. 

But don’t just take their word for it, ask to see the results: 

  • Who are the clients similar to you that they’ve previously helped?
  • What did that client need help with? 
  • What actions did the digital marketing firm take to move the needle? 
  • Do the numbers actually support successful growth?  

By asking probative questions from the outset, you can start to build a better understanding of who the digital marketing agency is, what they do, and whether they can back up their claims. 

A fundamental question worth asking is, “how do you define success?” Because not all legal marketing agencies may have the same answer. Or, what they consider a successful campaign may not align with your intended outcomes. This screening process gives you a better sense of whether there is synergy between your two groups. 

Why Convert It? 

Our program is focused on creating successful outcomes. That doesn’t just mean generating leads for your business. Our goal is to help you land paying clients every single month. Metrics like CPC, click rate, and conversion rates do matter, but only in relation to ROI.  

At Convert IT, we measure success by how many clients you get. And we’ve helped countless clients build winning digital marketing campaigns that work. 

For instance, for the cost of $1,342.26, we built a PPC campaign for criminal lawyers in North Carolina that was focused on geo-targeting several interrelated keywords. Within a month, they received 20 phone calls, 2 web leads, 1,195 clicks, and 68 conversions. That resulted in a 5.7% conversion rate at a cost of $19 for each conversion. 

It’s one more reason why we’re known as the PPC specialists.

Are They Transparent?

Many digital marketing agencies hide behind hand waving tactics, buzzwords, and “proprietary information.” They don’t reveal what’s behind the curtain or explain how they operate or drive success.

Instead, seek out a law firm marketing agency that embraces an ethos of transparency. You want a partner that is intentional about sharing their:

  • Goals
  • Strategies
  • Processes
  • Tactics
  • Marketing data
  • Success stories

Trust is something that’s earned. You’re entrusting your marketing spend with this agency, so you deserve to know how that money is helping your firm grow.

Why Convert IT? 

At Convert IT, we seek to be open about what we do and how we do it. Our proven strategies and platform has everything your firm needs to generate a new  ideal client set. That includes:

  • A PPC strategy that drives web traffic
  • Captivating ads
  • Conversion websites 
  • Behavioral targeting
  • Call & lead tracking 

From the moment a campaign goes live, we begin tracking and sharing the numbers so that both our teams can see whether the strategy is working or needs to be altered. 

Are They Fast and Affordable? 

Getting clicks and conversions doesn’t have to deplete your budget. It also shouldn’t take months for a campaign to be up and running. 

Great legal marketing agencies can move the needle quickly and for low costs. And be wary of being locked into long-term contracts, especially if you don’t even know whether the agencies can deliver on their promises. 

As you screen potential partners, consider the following questions:

  • How long does it take for a campaign to get started? 
  • What is the minimum contract length for your services? 
  • Are there additional fees?
  • Is it easy to scale up or down according to demand? 
  • How do you end the agreement if the campaign flops? 
  • Are there built-in KPIs?
  • If results aren’t delivered, what then?  

By establishing prices early on, you can avoid being hit by surprise charges or fees. At this juncture, you can see how transparency threads itself through all aspects of choosing the right marketing agency. 

Why Convert It?

Our onboarding process takes 10 minutes to sign up. From there, we can have a fully functioning campaign going within 5 days. After that, we offer dashboards that include all of the important metrics to ensure transparency. 

Additionally, we can take on campaigns with Google budgets that are as little as $650. Our management fees are low and there are no long-term contracts—only proven results. 

What Is Their Marketing Strategy? 

A legal market agency shouldn’t just know the top SEO trends, they should present a complete roadmap toward achieving your goals. Successfully building that out requires a deep dive into your company and its goals. 

During this process, you want a marketing agency that will:

  • Map your target audience 
  • Set key marketing goals (both active and passive)
  • Specify who you will target and how 

While there are several avenues for achieving growth, be wary of digital marketing firms that are overly reliant on SEO-based strategies. These may be effective for marketing to other industries, but tend to pale in comparison to strategic paid ad campaigns.  

Similarly, if they don’t employ a local marketing strategy, that should be cause for concern. As Forbes notes,2 “Local Service Ads are a fantastic way for service-industry businesses to attract potential clients in a Google search. These ads give firms another avenue to increase visibility and competitiveness in an online search.”

You know that your clients are down the street or across town, not halfway across the country. Local-based marketing ensures you’re targeting the people in your area.

Why Convert It? 

At Convert It, we’re PPC specialists that have years of experience in crafting fully optimized PPC campaigns for small and large law firms alike. During this time, we’ve discovered that the optimal way to increase your law firm’s visibility is by securing your spot atop the search engine results pages of people in your area. 

We ensure your PPC campaign is optimized to convert

Which means we don’t just stop at the ad copy. We focus on converting high-quality leads into clients. Our ConversionPro service provides 24/7 overflow call answering, real-time text messaging and email updates, CRM, drip campaigns, and much more. 

Convert It—Your Great Legal Marketing Agency

Selecting the right partner to run a legal marketing campaign shouldn’t be a spur of the moment decision. It takes time and due diligence to confirm that there’s synergy between your firm and theirs. 

As you go about the screening process, be sure to ask: 

  • Do they have deep industry roots?
  • Do they have a track record of success? 
  • Are they transparent with their process? 
  • Are they fast and affordable? 
  • What marketing strategies do they use? 

At Convert It, we check off every one of these boxes. But don’t simply take our word for it. We are a Google Premier partner, which less than 3% of all agencies qualify for. 

What does that mean? 

It means that we provide everything your law firm needs to retain existing clients while generating new ones. With Convert It, there are no contracts or long-term commitments. There’s simply meaningful results. 



  1. Business2Community. How Marketing Strategies Change Based on Industry. https://www.business2community.com/marketing/how-marketing-strategies-change-based-on-industry-02316854
  2. Forbes. Crush The Competition In Online Search With Local Service Ads For Law Firm Marketing. https://www.forbes.com/sites/theyec/2021/03/26/crush-the-competition-in-online-search-with-local-service-ads-for-law-firm-marketing/?sh=688a1c68bdea